The King's collection
The Kunstkammer (Chamber of Curiosities) near Christiansborg is one of Copenhagen's earliest baroque buildings. It was erected in 1665-73 by King Frederik III, adjoining the then Copenhagen Castle, and was based on designs by Royal Master Builder Albert Mathiesen.…
The lost room
The library took up the entire length of the middle floor and was a unique architectural gem. It was 80 metres long and 11 metres wide. Marbled columns in alternately grey-green and red with gold leaf capitals supported the balcony that ran along the walls. Light flooded in from ten windows on each of the long sides. But in about 1900, the interior of the library was stripped out. Had there been a book on the history of vandalism in Denmark, this event would definitely have merited a mention. Luckily, some of the features were recycled. Some of the columns, the balcony and balustrades were reused in the Koldinghus library and in the ceremonial hall of the National Museum. And the tiled marble floor was reused for the great hall at Christiansborg when it was rebuilt after the fire in 1884.
Contribute to The Chamber of Curiosities
Contribute with a story about this place?
Contribute with one or more pictures
Contribute with videos
Contribute with links